2016, almost done

Almost four months since my last update is surely a new record (not that I can quite bring myself to check… the shame of it). It’s all been a blur, of deadlines, of noise, of teaching, of coming up with headlines that are funny but not libelous, of chasing a two-and-a-half-year-old all over the place. But I did some other stuff!

screen-shot-2016-12-16-at-12-04-06-pm

Most recently, I undertook the horrific task of selecting ten of the finest moments from Public Enemy’s back catalogue. Sadly the comments have now closed so you missed your chance to tell me I am an idiot.

Over the Summer, I got the chance to interview the wonderful Michael Kiwanuka for the wonderful MOJO magazine. It was in the issue with the wonderful Lou Reed on the cover, and you might still be able to find a copy at Soho’s wonderful Vintage Magazine Shop… Oh, no, it’s closed. Get thee to eBay, then.

screen-shot-2016-12-16-at-10-54-48-am

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While you’re there, see if you can find this Kerrang! cover story, where I interviewed Butch Vig on the experience of producing Nevermind. “I’ll see what I can remember, it was twenty-five years ago,” Butch said, at the beginning of the interview. Turns out he could remember loads, and writing the story helped illuminate an album that was a gateway drug for my generation, from the mainstream to the underground. You might think you know all there is to know about Nevermind, but trust me: Butch still had some secrets left to share.

And finally: Loose Lips Sink Ships, the zine the devastatingly talented Steve Gullick and myself run, is making its way from the internet back onto paper at some point in the new year. If you want in on this – and of course you do – drop us your email address HERE.

I’ll try not to leave it another four months. Have a great Xmas and New Year.

About steviechick

Freelance journalist, author, lecturer, sub-editor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

